Guide
The best website builders for artists (2026)
The short answer: Situ.art if you want every work shown in a room at its true size, on a site that builds itself from the works you upload. Squarespace or Wix if you want a shop, a blog and bookings on a site you design, and FASO if you want selling, a newsletter and art contests from one account.
We make Situ.art, so it’s first here. Every other builder’s prices and features were read from its own site, on the date shown under it, in the currency it showed us. Updated 22 October 2026.
Try the first one: see your own website
It’s built the moment you open it, from the works you’ve uploaded, or from two sample paintings until you upload your own. No account needed to look.
At a glance
| Builder | Best for | Price to start |
|---|---|---|
| Situ.art | A website that shows every work in a room, and keeps itself up to date | £9 a month, free to build and preview |
| Squarespace | One site for a shop, a blog, bookings and newsletters, if you’ll design it | From $19 a month billed yearly |
| Wix | A free site to start, with thousands of templates and an AI builder | Free with Wix branding; from $17 a month billed yearly |
| Format | Photographers who want client galleries, a store and Lightroom | From $10 a month billed yearly |
| Pixpa | A store, a blog and client galleries at a low price | From £6.85 a month before VAT |
| FASO | Selling, a newsletter and art-contest promotion from one account | From $15 a month; View in Room from $25 |
| Artspan | Selling originals and prints with no commission, plus a marketplace listing | From £9.75 a month billed yearly |
| Artwork Archive | Artists who mainly need inventory, sales records and certificates | From $9 a month billed yearly |
| Adobe Portfolio | Creatives who already pay for Lightroom or Creative Cloud | Included with Lightroom, from US$11.99 a month |
| Cargo | Designers and artists who want to lay out every page themselves | $14 a month billed yearly |
| Carrd | The cheapest one-page site with your own domain | Free for 3 sites; $19 a year with a domain |
Features compared
| Situ.art | Squarespace | Wix | Format | Pixpa | FASO | Artspan | Artwork Archive | Adobe Portfolio | Cargo | Carrd | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upload a work and it’s on your website | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Every work in a room at its true size | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| A person in view for scale | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | – | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| A walk-through video, made for you | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Fields for medium, size and sold | ✓ | ✗ | – | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | – | ✓ | ✗ | – | – |
| AI training crawlers kept out by default | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – | – | – | – |
| Room mockups and AI images included | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ |
| Edit it all on a phone | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| A free plan with a public site | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ |
| Your own domain | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Online shop and checkout | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ | – | ✓ | ✓ |
| Blog | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – | – | – |
| Email newsletter | ✗ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – | ✓ |
✓ yes · ✗ no · – not stated on their site
1. Situ.art: best for a website that shows every work in a room, and keeps itself up to date
An artist’s website made from the works already in your Situ.art library. Each work is shown whole, then in a room at its true size, with a person for scale and a walk-through video.
- Price
- £9 a month on the Artist plan, or £7.50 a month billed yearly (£90). Room mockups, AI images and videos are included.
- Free plan
- Build and preview it free, without an account. Making it public needs the Artist plan.
- In a room
- Every work hangs at its true size in a room, with a person in view for scale, plus a walk-through video in a gallery. Made for you, from the work’s size.
- Domain
- No. Your website is at situ.art/en/yourname.
Good at:
- Nothing to design: it’s made from the works you’ve uploaded, and each new work appears on it as you upload it.
- Every work in a room at its true size, beside a person for scale and in a walk-through video, made for you from the size you entered.
- The details buyers look for, in a gallery’s order: title, year, medium, size in cm and inches, framed size, signed, and Available or Sold.
- Inquire on every work, which emails you without showing your address.
- AI training crawlers told to stay out, with nothing to switch on.
- Room mockups for Instagram and listings come with the same plan.
Where it falls short:
- No domain of your own: your website is at situ.art/en/yourname.
- No shop or checkout, blog or newsletter.
- Up to 30 works on the Artist plan; more takes Pro, at £29 a month.
- One room per work, the one you last downloaded it in. FASO lets a visitor pick from several.
2. Squarespace: best for one site for a shop, a blog, bookings and newsletters, if you’ll design it
A general website builder for businesses, with templates for portfolios.
- Price
- Basic $19 a month billed yearly ($228), or $25 monthly. Core $29, Plus $49 and Advanced $99 a month billed yearly.
- Free plan
- None. A 14-day trial, during which the site stays private.
- In a room
- Not built in: galleries show the photos you upload.
- Domain
- Yes. Free for the first year on annual billing.
Good at:
- Everything in one place: a store, a blog, bookings, member areas and email campaigns.
- Your own domain, free for the first year on annual billing.
- Designer templates and full control of every page.
- Email support around the clock, and live chat on weekdays.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Fields for medium, size and sold
- AI training crawlers kept out by default
- Room mockups and AI images included
- Edit it all on a phone
- A free plan with a public site
Checked 21 October 2026 on Squarespace’s site. Squarespace alternative for artists
3. Wix: best for a free site to start, with thousands of templates and an AI builder
A general website builder, with an AI builder and portfolio templates.
- Price
- Free with Wix branding. Light $17, Core $29 and Business $39 a month billed yearly ($24, $36 and $46 monthly).
- Free plan
- Yes: a wixsite.com address with Wix branding or ads, 500 MB of storage and no payments.
- In a room
- Not built in: galleries show the images you upload.
- Domain
- Yes, on paid plans, with a free domain for the first year on yearly plans.
Good at:
- A free plan with a public site, on a wixsite.com address.
- Thousands of templates and an AI builder, with full control of the design.
- A shop, a blog, bookings and email marketing on one site.
- Your own domain, free for the first year on yearly plans.
- Customer care around the clock on every plan.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- AI training crawlers kept out by default
- Room mockups and AI images included
- Edit it all on a phone
Checked 21 October 2026 on Wix’s site. Wix alternative for artists
4. Format: best for photographers who want client galleries, a store and Lightroom
A portfolio website builder for photographers, illustrators and other creatives.
- Price
- Basic $10 a month billed yearly ($14 monthly). Pro $17 and Pro Plus $26 billed yearly, cut to $12 and $15 for the first year in a current offer.
- Free plan
- None. A 14-day trial, no card needed.
- In a room
- Not built in: galleries show the images you upload.
- Domain
- Yes, free for the first year on Pro and Pro Plus.
Good at:
- A commission-free store on Pro and Pro Plus.
- Your own domain, free for the first year on Pro plans.
- Client galleries, contracts and Lightroom integration, for photographers.
- An iPhone app, and support around the clock.
- AI training crawlers blocked on every site, as on Situ.art.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Fields for medium, size and sold
- Room mockups and AI images included
- A free plan with a public site
Checked 21 October 2026 on Format’s site. Format alternative for artists
5. Pixpa: best for a store, a blog and client galleries at a low price
A portfolio website builder for photographers, artists and designers, with a store and client galleries.
- Price
- Basic £6.85, Creator £11.42, Professional £15.49 and Advanced £19.04 a month before VAT. Yearly is 40% off in the first year, then 20% off.
- Free plan
- None. A 15-day trial, no card needed.
- In a room
- Not built in: galleries show the images you upload.
- Domain
- Yes. Free for the first year on Creator and up.
Good at:
- A store with no commission on any plan, for originals, prints and downloads.
- A blog, client galleries with proofing, and SEO tools.
- Your own domain, free for the first year on Creator and up.
- Human support around the clock.
- Unlimited images and pages above Basic.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Fields for medium, size and sold
- Room mockups and AI images included
- A free plan with a public site
Checked 21 October 2026 on Pixpa’s site. Pixpa alternative for artists
6. FASO: best for selling, a newsletter and art-contest promotion from one account
An art marketing platform: artist websites with a store, blog, newsletter and art contests.
- Price
- Intro $15 a month ($144 a year), Silver $25 ($228), Gold $30 ($312), Platinum $45 ($480). A domain is $14 a year.
- Free plan
- None. A 30-day trial.
- In a room
- View in Room on Silver and up: a visitor picks a room and a wall colour, sized from your dimensions. Not on Intro.
- Domain
- Yes, $14 a year through FASO.
Good at:
- Selling built in: Stripe and PayPal checkout, prints on demand and a newsletter.
- View in Room on Silver and up, framed or unframed, with a choice of wall colours.
- Free entries to the monthly BoldBrush art contest, and promotion in its Daily Art Stream.
- An art marketing library and webinars, and phone support on Gold and up.
- Your own domain for $14 a year.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Room mockups and AI images included
- A free plan with a public site
Checked 21 October 2026 on FASO’s site. FASO alternative for artists
7. Artspan: best for selling originals and prints with no commission, plus a marketplace listing
Artist websites with a shop, prints on demand and a listing in Artspan’s marketplace.
- Price
- Basic £12 a month (£9.75 billed yearly), Professional £18.75 (£15.75) and Professional Plus £24 (£21), as shown to UK visitors.
- Free plan
- None. A 14-day trial; the site stays password-protected until you subscribe.
- In a room
- Not built in. Augmented reality (“Live Preview”) on every plan shows a work through a phone or tablet camera; there are no room views.
- Domain
- A free subdomain; a full domain is free on Professional Plus.
Good at:
- Selling built in: originals and prints with no commission, and prints on demand with the shipping handled.
- A place in Artspan’s own marketplace, which it says brings collectors to you.
- Your own domain, free on Professional Plus.
- Bio, CV, news and exhibition pages, and phone support.
- Augmented reality on every plan.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Room mockups and AI images included
- A free plan with a public site
Checked 23 October 2026 on Artspan’s site. Artspan alternative for artists
8. Artwork Archive: best for artists who mainly need inventory, sales records and certificates
Inventory software for artists, with a Public Profile of the works you choose.
- Price
- Apprentice $9, Professional $18 and Master $36 a month billed yearly ($10, $21 and $42 monthly).
- Free plan
- None. A 14-day trial, no card needed.
- In a room
- Not stated. Its Private Rooms are password-protected collections, not room views.
- Domain
- No: “Artwork Archive does not support custom domains at this time.” You can forward one to your profile.
Good at:
- A full inventory: every piece’s locations, editions, sales, invoices and reports, with daily backups.
- Certificates of authenticity, QR labels and a CRM.
- Provenance, exhibition and publication history shown with each work.
- Listed on Artwork Archive’s Discovery platform, and embeddable in your own site on Professional.
Doesn’t offer:
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Room mockups and AI images included
- A free plan with a public site
- Your own domain
- Online shop and checkout
Checked 21 October 2026 on Artwork Archive’s site. Artwork Archive alternative for artists
9. Adobe Portfolio: best for creatives who already pay for Lightroom or Creative Cloud
The website builder that comes with Creative Cloud plans and Behance Pro.
- Price
- No plan of its own. Included with Lightroom (US$11.99 a month, annual plan), Photography (US$19.99) and other Creative Cloud plans, or Behance Pro.
- Free plan
- None: publishing needs a plan that includes Portfolio.
- In a room
- Not built in: pages show the images you upload.
- Domain
- Yes. Every site also has a myportfolio.com address.
Good at:
- No extra cost if you already pay for Lightroom or Creative Cloud.
- Your own domain, and up to five sites with Behance Pro.
- Adobe Fonts, and Lightroom albums placed straight onto your pages.
- Free-form pages for any kind of project.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Fields for medium, size and sold
- Room mockups and AI images included
- Edit it all on a phone
- A free plan with a public site
Checked 21 October 2026 on Adobe Portfolio’s site. Adobe Portfolio alternative for artists
10. Cargo: best for designers and artists who want to lay out every page themselves
A site builder for designers and artists, with free-form layouts and full control of type.
- Price
- One plan: $14 a month billed yearly, or $19 billed monthly. Selling is an add-on at $5.50 a month (yearly).
- Free plan
- None: a subscription is needed for a site to go public. Free for students and teachers.
- In a room
- Not built in: galleries show the photos you upload.
- Domain
- Yes. One custom domain connection is included; more are $2 a month (yearly).
Good at:
- Design freedom: free-form layouts, five gallery modes, scroll effects, CSS and HTML editing and Dinamo fonts.
- Your own domain: one custom domain connection is included.
- Selling: a $5.50 a month add-on, with no Cargo transaction fees.
- Unlimited sites on cargo.site addresses for one price, and free for students and teachers.
- Editing together in real time, and a network of peers’ sites.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Room mockups and AI images included
- Edit it all on a phone
- A free plan with a public site
Checked 21 October 2026 on Cargo’s site. Cargo alternative for artists
11. Carrd: best for the cheapest one-page site with your own domain
One-page sites for anything, with portfolio templates built around an image gallery.
- Price
- Free for 3 sites. Pro Lite $9 a year (no branding), Pro Standard $19 a year (own domain, forms), Pro Plus $49 a year. Billed yearly, in $.
- Free plan
- Up to 3 one-page sites, with “Made with Carrd” in the footer. Pro has a 7-day trial.
- In a room
- Not built in: galleries show the images you upload.
- Domain
- On Pro Standard and up, with a domain you register elsewhere.
Good at:
- Price: free for three sites, and $19 a year with your own domain.
- Forms: contact and newsletter sign-ups on Pro Standard, payment forms on Pro Plus.
- Any kind of page, not only artwork: links, sign-ups and landing pages.
Doesn’t offer:
- Upload a work and it’s on your website
- Every work in a room at its true size
- A person in view for scale
- A walk-through video, made for you
- Room mockups and AI images included
Checked 21 October 2026 on Carrd’s site. Carrd alternative for artists
How to choose
- Will you keep it up to date? Many artists post new work on Instagram and leave their site as it was. A site made from the works you already upload keeps itself current; one you build by hand needs an evening each time.
- Can a buyer tell how big the work is? A flat photo of a 30 cm study and a 150 cm canvas look the same on a phone. Check whether the builder shows the work at its size, or leaves that to the photos you take.
- Do you sell through the site? If so, compare the fees on a sale as well as the monthly price: some take a share of card sales on their cheaper plans.
- Do you care about AI training? Check whether the builder keeps AI crawlers out by default, or leaves a setting for you to find.
Questions
- What is the best website builder for artists?
- It depends on what you want the site to do. Situ.art if you want every work shown in a room at its true size, on a site you never have to build. Squarespace or Wix if you want a shop, a blog and bookings on a site you design. FASO or Artspan if you want selling made for artists, and Format or Pixpa if you’re also a photographer.
- Which artist website builders show art in a room?
- Situ.art shows every work in a room at its true size, beside a person for scale and in a walk-through video, on its one plan. FASO has a View in Room on Silver ($25 a month) and up, where a visitor picks a room and a wall colour, and Artspan offers augmented reality. Squarespace, Wix, Format, Pixpa, Cargo, Carrd and Adobe Portfolio show the photos you upload.
- Which website builder is cheapest for artists?
- Carrd is free for three one-page sites, and $19 a year with your own domain. Wix has a free plan that carries its branding. For a full portfolio site, Pixpa starts at £6.85 a month before VAT, Artwork Archive at $9 and Format at $10 a month billed yearly, Situ.art at £9 a month (£7.50 billed yearly), and Squarespace at $19 a month billed yearly.
- Which builders keep AI training crawlers off my work?
- Situ.art keeps them off artists’ pages with nothing to switch on. Format says it blocks them on every site, and FASO blocks identifiable automated traffic by default. Squarespace has a setting that’s off until you switch it on, and Wix leaves you to edit robots.txt yourself. The others don’t say.
- Can I edit my artist website on my phone?
- On Situ.art, Pixpa and Artwork Archive, in the phone’s browser, and on Format with its iPhone app. Squarespace’s app can’t edit portfolio projects, Wix’s help says gallery images can’t be edited on a phone, Carrd calls its mobile builder “somewhat beta-ish”, and Cargo and Adobe Portfolio don’t support editing on a phone.
- Do I need my own domain?
- Not to send a link or be found, but most builders connect one: Squarespace, Wix, Format, Pixpa, FASO, Artspan, Cargo, Carrd and Adobe Portfolio. Situ.art and Artwork Archive don’t; a Situ.art website is at situ.art/en/yourname.
See your works as a website
Open it and it’s built from the works you’ve uploaded: each one whole, in a room at its true size and in a walk-through video. Free to build and preview, no account needed to look.
More guides: Wall art size guide, Art print sizes and ratios, Art print sizes for Etsy, Showing artwork in a room, Photographing paintings to sell online, Showing art at scale, Art above a sofa, Best wall art mockup generators.